Battle of the Rib Tips: Round 3

16-18 March 2024

When I began planning this trip, I knew I was going to revisit two of my favourite BBQ places in the region – Sims Bar-B-Que in Little Rock and A&R Bar-B-Que in Memphis. The first time I visited both was nearly a decade ago in 2015, which was fabulous – accentuated by that amazing smoked turkey leg in Memphis. And of course 2019, a repeat, and the turkey leg did not disappoint.

When I arrived in Little Rock at the beginning of this trip, I made sure that I made it into Sims. It’s not the most welcoming sight with the metal bars and security, but it’s understandable. They’ve never been anything but friendly and once inside it is very welcoming. I waited for my order of tips and was drooling as I carried it out the door.

So good, lovely flavours. They use a more liquidy sauce, which really gets into the meat. Excellent, well worth the 5-year wait! I of course then had that excellent dinner at Brave New Restaurant that evening, so it was a fine food Saturday in Little Rock.

Fast forward a day, I left Little Rock this Monday morning, saddened that my last memory was of a crappy dinner at Table 28 and the rideshare that took ages to come. I made a few stops before I got back to my original destination, Memphis, where I had a long day planned with lots to do. One of them was to complete the double by visiting A&R.

Again, not the most welcoming look from the outside, but a friendly and efficient crew inside. I was absolutely gutted when they told me they were out of turkey legs…I had been dreaming about it for years!!!! Oh well, I still had an excellent order of tips going out.

More traditional than Sims, but as delicious. Excellent sauce, and this comes from a guy who usually doesn’t like sauce on his BBQ. I’m a dry rub guy. But another winner, and I was a happy camper. Nothing makes me happier than having these two amazing renditions of rib tips – unless it’s a smoked turkey leg, of course! That’s the only thing bumming me out.

If you are in either – or both – towns, do not miss these BBQ joints, or you’ll regret it! I can’t wait to come back, hopefully in less than 5 years – and hopefully there will be a turkey leg for me at A&R!

Sims Bar-B-Que
2415 Broadway Street
Little Rock, Arkansas

A&R Bar-B-Que
1802 Elvis Presley Boulevard
Memphis, Tennessee

1 thought on “Battle of the Rib Tips: Round 3

  1. Pingback: Review: Iris | melhuang1972

Leave a comment