The 10 Best Dishes of 2023

As I said in the previous post on the 10 best dining experiences of the past year, 2023 was a good year for eating. Now I’m presenting the 10 best dishes of the year.

This list is very different, but related, to the previous post, as it undoubtedly influenced this particular list. I tried not to replicate any from the previous list, but two were just too good not to add here… But overall, I tried to avoid listing things twice, although a few other dishes from the previous list would come very, very close to making this list.

Anyway, hope you enjoy this second look back at my food journey in 2023!

1. Tripe and dungeness crab at Off Alley (Seattle, Washington, 1 December)

Stunning dish. Maybe the best tripe dish I’ve had in my life, and I eat them all the time as my readers know. I make it at home quite often as well. This version captured the essence of tripe for me, easy to eat but retaining the necessary unique texture and flavour. Oh, and that crab and sauce… Absolutely stunning, worth flying across the country for.

2. Capitone at Pulejo (Roma, Italia, 29 March)

Again, sorry for another repeat from the previous list, but this was ridiculously good. So good, I ordered a second dish! I love eel, and these large European eels are getting harder and harder to find. No need for any unnecessary smoking, cooking these things fresh is the best way to capture its flavour. So good.

3. Short rib at EnVie (Lansing, Michigan, 8 April)

Finding something good in Michigan’s capital was unexpected, but getting one of the best braised short rib dishes in your life was ridiculously unexpected. Cooked to absolute perfection, this oft-ruined…ah, let’s be honest, ruined 99% of the time…dish retained flavour and texture without losing the unique qualities of the short rib in a way that’s hard to describe without you tasting it. But needless to say, it made a huge impression on me, and makes me want to visit Lansing again and again.

4. Crudo at Pescheria Mattiucci (Napoli, Italia, 30 March)

Just look at this crudo plate. I waited years to return to Napoli to have its amazing seafood, and this was a welcome reward for my first night back. The gamberi rossi were especially delicious. This tiny eatery has become world famous for its daily crudo selection, and it’s easy to see why! Most people stop off here just for this dish on their evening stroll. If I lived in Napoli, that’s what I’d do!

5. Duck at Noisette (Denver, Colorado, 29 April)

I honestly did not expect to have such a good night at this new and very popular Denver eatery, but the kitchen and front-of-house staff surprised me – especially with the perfectly cooked duck. The additions of pea shoots and morels turned a fabulous dish into a spectacular one that landed on this list. It’s not easy that a duck dish beats something from Boka, which consistently makes some of the best dish in the world, but this certainly did that night!

6. Tira de asado at El Che Steakhouse (Chicago, Illinois, 20 June)

It’s hard enough to find proper tira de asado in Chicago, but this version was done so darn well it turned me into a devotee of El Che for a short time – until they blew it a few months later with poor quality meat and wonky service. But the memories of this first visit, where I enjoyed very high quality rib meat, plus a very generous portion, remain. So delicious… Question is whether I should give them another chance in 2024 – will I get something nearly as good as this, or will I get another dud like the last visit?

7. Tomato broth at Iluka (København, Danmark, 10 October)

Really, Mel? Even with that amazing whole plaice you ate, you’re picking the soup? Yes. It was a spectacular dinner at Iluka in Denmark’s capital, but what really made it amazing was the opener. This tomato broth was so intense and refreshing it’s something I would dream of bottling up and drinking all the time! Of course the oysters and samphire made this even more memorable, but I totally stand by adding this as one of the top ten dishes of 2023!

8. Monkfish stew at The Franklin (Portsmouth, New Hampshire, 5 November)

I didn’t expect much when I saw this dish as exclusive to one of those dreaded “restaurant week” menus, but turned out to be a complete surprise. Strong flavours, with a perfectly cooked (and generous) piece of monkfish that worked super well with the rest of the dish. A true feast for seafood lovers! And more impressive this came on that dreaded “restaurant week” menu!

9. Beef tartar at Matū (Beverly Hills, California, 27 December)

I usually don’t order tartar because of the multitude of variables, from quality of the meat to the quality of the meat cutter. You can have fabulous quality meat but the tartar ruined due to poor cutting. And even a good cutter can rescue poor quality meat just so much. But this so-so food at Matū was absolutely highlighted by this dish. One of the best tartar dishes I’ve had in ages.

10. Salo at Anelya (Chicago, Illinois, 30 December 2023)

Nothing reminds me of Ukraine more than enjoying some salo, and the version I had at Chicago’s newest Ukrainian restaurant, Anelya, was absolutely spectacular. One of those you just put in your mouth and experience two minutes of pure pleasure as it melt away. It really sums up the whole concept of the “best dish of the year” for me. Mmm…

Again, this list is subjective, but looking back at so many good dishes through 2023 it’s not easy to extract the best from the year. This just represents 10 times that something jumped out at me so significantly that it left a memory that’s hard not to cherish.

What were your 10 best dishes of 2023?

Leave a comment