Review: Killen’s Barbeque

26 Feburary 2017

I was hungover and out of energy, but I managed to get a few things done this Sunday. Just missed the Galveston trip, but oh well… Long day, and I drifted into Pearland early afternoon for what I was told the best barbeque in Houston, Killen’s Barbeque.

Queue was short for a Texas weekend, only about 45 minutes. I got my food for 2-3 meals (yep, lunch and dinner, and likely brekkie in the morning before I head to LA) and headed to my hotel nearby. I opened up the goodies and it went all over the scale…

20170226_143123

Firstly, the sausages…they brought the wrong ones (I asked for spicy), and it’s obvious because it was more links than I ordered. But they were AWFUL. They tasted 2 days old at best. What the hell? I was worried…

20170226_143139

Then the brisket…again, terrible. What, this is supposed to be the best in the area? It was horribly dry and had no flavour aside from the over-spiced edge. The worst brisket I’ve had in ages!

Damn worried now! Did I waste my time? The pork ribs were actually quite good, so I relaxed a little.

20170226_143238

And to be honest, the creamed corn side was really good.

20170226_142930

But what made this epic was the fabulous beef rib.

20170226_143254

Now this was the absolute BEST beef rib I’ve ever had, amazing how they made this. So all in all it balanced out to a point. I had enough for 2 meals, lunch and dinner. No brekkie, as the sausages and rest of the brisket I fed to the birds outside…

Well, thank you Houston, off for Lalaland…and a plate of pork rinds waiting for me

Killen’s Barbeque
3613 East Broadway
Pearland, Texas

Leave a Reply

