Review #2: Satou

16 January 2015

When I was planning the Tokyo portion of this Japan trip, I made a conscious decision to skip everywhere that I’ve been before, even the excellent Sushi Bar Yasuda. However, I made 2 exceptions — one being an izakaya near my hotel, and the other the fabulous steak restaurant Satou.

I returned to this excellent restaurant in the distant suburb of Kichijoji nearly a year after my initial visit, a visit that I still dream about. The beef here, the Matsusaka, is one of the most special beef you can ever try. The marbling is absolutely spectacular. I dreamt about seeing this beef again and here was my treat of today…

first_steak_raw

Oh yeah, what a beautiful piece of meat. My dinner. I enjoyed some wine and salad beforehand as they cooked this beautiful thing in front of me in this small eatery. And here we go!

first_steak_01

Look at this thing, absolutely excellent. Just look at this thing!

first_steak_02

Absolutely fantastic. I loved this dish so much and savoured every barely-necessary chew. The beef just melted in your mouth…

first_steak_05

I was in 7th Heaven at this point and drank more wine as I finished the 180g beauty. Then a terrible idea came over me…why not? I’m only here once a year at the most, so…

second_steak_02

Yep, I ordered another one. At ¥10,000 each it ain’t cheap, but I went for it… Utterly beautiful, this one was even more marbled — as chef picked out a special one for me. As I finished it, again savouring each bite, he actually applauded me. Now that’s awesome…

I headed out happily for the long ride back to the centre with a LOT of beef consumed. Wow, this was utterly a wonderful feasting experience, I just had to have another. Crazy, but it was worth it. Now for some craft beers in Shibuya…

Satou [サトウ]
1-1-8 Kichijoji-honcho, Musashino-shi
Tokyo, Japan

7 thoughts on “Review #2: Satou

  1. Pingback: Review: Nodaiwa | melhuang1972

  2. Pingback: Review: Sanda | melhuang1972

  3. Pingback: Some Drankin’ in Japan…Gotta Feed the Liver | melhuang1972

  4. Pingback: Review #2: Hinaiya | melhuang1972

  5. Pingback: Grazing…I mean Feasting…in Kumamoto | melhuang1972

  6. Pingback: Review #3: Satou | melhuang1972

  7. Pingback: My Top 10 Dishes of 2015 | melhuang1972

Leave a Reply

