Review: Taxim

15 December 2014

On a still warmer-than-usual night I planned to head out of the Loop to a Greek place I’ve heard good buzz about, Taxim. Chicago already is one of the best places to eat Greek food, but I was told this place focuses more on harder-to-find regional items. The menu looked interesting, so I headed out on the Blue line.

Crap, I had forgotten that Damon Station was shut, so had to walk a bit. Unfortunately Damon’s temporary closure has affected business in the area, and the restaurant was rather empty this evening.

I sat in the back and enjoyed some good Greek wine. They have an excellent Greek wine list, some harder-to-find items in North America. I decided to order a few small plates to fully enjoy the different items on the menu.

fried_mussels_edited

The first dish was fried mussels on skewers. Not bad, the batter had a beer base. I do apologise for the photos as they are a bit edited for brightness as it was dark as Hades inside the place.

watercress_chard_halloumi_edited

Next to grace the table was a sauteed watercress and chard dish, with a piece of halloumi. I love halloumi (as well as chard). This was the vegetable side for the evening. Not bad, but the halloumi probably could have been done more simply.

shrimp_grape_leaves_edited

The third item, if hard to see, are actually grape-leaf-wrapped shrimp. Not bad, but the leaf was very strong. The pepper (in front) was very spicy and I needed a bit of wine to take this all down…

lamb_kebab_edited

The last item was the lamb kebab. They did not have a few of my other wants, like the lamb offal, so this was their suggestion. Not bad, but rather ordinary.

By now I’ve collected quite a large number of pita and bread with enough tzatziki to kill a dozen people, so I slowly snacked on them while drinking more wine. Food was pretty good, but I wasn’t blown away.

I was talked into a dessert and a sweet Greek wine…

boughatsa_edited

The boughatsa took a little time but the traditional custard pastry was a nice end to the evening. I switched to tsipouro and the pour was quite large…very nice…

I walked out feeling okay, as this place should have more custom. Wasn’t blown away by it, but a good place in the neighbourhood definitely. Definitely filled me up for my evening at Emporium Arcade Bar nearby, where I will be spending the next few hours drinking craft beers and playing all my childhood arcade games like Donkey Kong, Super Punch-Out, Spy Hunter, Joust and so many more — all on their original consoles. Felt 11 years old for a few hours, even with the beer in my hand…

Taxim
1558 N. Milwaukee Avenue
Chicago, Illinois

Leave a Reply

