Review: Damon’s Steak House

25 July 2019

I had a ridiculously busy day, having come to Los Angeles to deal with an unexpected situation. Luckily I had that wonderful Tomato Wednesday feast at the always-fabulous Marino last night to get me through the crazy day.

Luckily I had time to stop here and there, but I also had to deal with other things later that took me out to Glendale, and also for a normal dinner time. So my options were limited, and I decided on a nearby prime rib joint called Damon’s Steak House.

Now for prime rib the place in LA to go is Taylor’s in K-town, but I just didn’t have time as I didn’t get to dinner until nearly 9.30pm. I walked into a bar/restaurant with dispirited staff and a place smelling of cleaning fluids…I figured it’s gonna be bad. But I’m hungry and tired, so I stayed.

I ordered and nursed a so-so cocktail and then the soup with my main course arrived…

1-beef vegetable soup

Not very inspiring, but little did I know this simple beef and vegetable soup would be the best dish all night… I quickly finished it, but then things grounded to a total halt… It seems the dispirited staff extends to the kitchen too, not just the FoH. And clearly someone dropped the ball, because my starter and main came out at the same time…

2-alligator popcorn

The starter, alligator popcorn, was horrible. It was cold, so it’s been left there in the kitchen. The batter was now soggy, and these things had no taste. I took one and left it, as my main had stupifyingly arrived at the same time.

3-prime rib

This rather obese prime rib was not good. It seems they just re-heated something, and left it once again as it was cold at parts. Leftover food for the late customers I suspect. Horrible quality, the huge cube of fat could have been good for cooking had I been going home instead of a hotel. But the meat was poor, though with the large. The spinach was far better. I now long for the soup…

I nursed my frustration at the end of this long and crazy day with a few more drinks here before I headed out, sick of the smell of cleaning fluids. Now I understand why the staff is dispirited, this is just awful… Oh, I should have gone into Downtown LA or K-town instead of this mess…

Damon’s Steak House
317 North Brand Boulevard
Glendale, California

Leave a comment